The 2020 FDM everywoman in Technology Awards open for nominations

The 10th anniversary FDM everywoman in Tech Awards are open for entries.

woman coding at laptop


The annual FDM everywoman in Technology Awards for outstanding women in tech are open for nominations until 7th October.

Now in their 10th year, the awards provide an opportunity for companies and individuals to put forward candidates for categories celebrating all stages of the career journey.

Over the 10 years, 350 incredible women in the tech industry from school students to CEO level have been recognised.

Everywoman says that currently only 7% of female students take computer science A-level, just half of girls that study IT & Tech subjects go on to a work in the field and only 16% of females have had technology suggested to them as a career. Further research has found that a lack of role models for young girls is a significant factor in the gender imbalance in the technology industry. In 2018 women only made up 12.6% of board members in the tech sector, compared to a 30% female representation achieved by FTSE 100 businesses.

The FDM everywoman in Technology Awards will showcase the successes of women at all stages in the industry, both inspiring the next generation of young female talent and recognising the work of the women who have dedicated their careers to tech.

Entries are open to entrepreneurs, new industry entrants and senior leaders. Entries are free and can be completed here.

The 2020 FDM everywoman in Technology Awards are free to enter and the categories are:

Academic Award – sponsored by Lloyds Banking Group – This is awarded to a woman in academia who has made an outstanding contribution to technology and science and whose work has made or has the potential to make a significant long-term impact in STEM. This could include using technology to enhance and support research and teaching, achieving technological breakthroughs or leveraging one’s position to significantly encourage more talent into stem subjects

One to Watch Award – sponsored by Computacenter – This is awarded to a girl aged 11-18 who is actively encouraging girls to study STEM subjects at school-level or making waves in the tech space. This award seeks to identify young game-changers and is open to inspirational students

Apprentice Award – This is awarded to a young woman apprentice who is a game-changer and is excelling in her early career

Rising Star Award – sponsored by T-Systems – This is awarded to a woman aged 26 or under who is excelling in her technology career, making a valuable contribution to her organisation

Digital Star – sponsored by CGI – This is awarded to a woman who is excelling in a digital role. This could include innovative digital content, social media, web development or developing online solutions

Software Engineer Award – sponsored by RBS – Awarded to a woman who has made a significant difference to the art of software engineering. She has built something new, shifted the art of the possible and is moving the profession forward

Team Leader Award – sponsored by American Express – This is awarded to a woman whose team leadership has greatly contributed to the organisation’s success. She is leading a team of up to 100 employees

Entrepreneur Award – This is awarded to an owner/operator of a technology business whose vision and talent will inspire others to start their own technology-related venture (trading for a minimum of 24 months)

Innovator Award – This is awarded to a woman designing, developing, researching, implementing or being exceptionally creative with technology in an unconventional and innovative way

Leader Award – sponsored by BP – This will be awarded to the woman operating in a senior technology role within her organisation. She will be making a contribution to the strategic direction of the business. She is leading a team of over 100 employees

International Inspiration Award – This is awarded to an individual, male or female, for their active commitment to encouraging, advancing, sponsoring or championing the progress of women working in technology. They are based outside of the UK

Male Agent of Change Award – This is awarded to a male agent of change for their active commitment to encouraging, advancing, sponsoring or championing the progress of women working in technology

The 2020 FDM everywoman in Technology Awards ceremony will take place on 4 March 2020.

Maxine Benson MBE, Co-Founder of everywoman, said: “We are very excited to launch the tenth everywoman in Technology Awards and looking back at the winners we’ve seen over the past decade is something everywoman feels very proud of. The partnership between FDM and everywoman continues to engage, advance and retain exceptional female talent in tech. The fast growth of this sector offers extraordinary and exciting opportunities for women and these Awards should be used as a platform to leverage the role models that are needed to attract the finest female talent of the future.”

Sheila Flavell, Chief Operating Officer of FDM Group comments: “It’s incredibly exciting to celebrate the 10th anniversary of these important awards which celebrate the achievements of women in the technology sector. This milestone underlines the hard work and persistence of so many people in the IT industry and sets a great example for the next generation of female talent. We are very proud to support this important event and provide a platform for the female tech innovators and entrepreneurs who have gone above and beyond in their respective organisations.”


Post a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Your Franchise Selection

Click the button below to register your interest with all the franchises in your selection

Request FREE Information Now

Your Franchise Selection

This franchise opportunity has been added to your franchise selection



Click the button below to register your interest with all the franchises in your selection

Request FREE Information Now

You may be interested in these similar franchises