Workingmums profiles: Jana Tareen

Jana Tareen has three children, two of them grown-up. She works full time in sales, but wants to get a better work life balance.

What is your current job and where is it based? 
I work full time for a local [Shropshire] media company in sales.  I am now working for Arise via working mums website, which is based at home. I hope this will eventually replace my current job to give me more flexibility to be with my six-year-old daughter.  I have 2 grown-up daughters and regret that I worked full time when they were small.  I feel that I missed out then and do not want this to happen a second time.
 
What kind of childcare do you have and are you happy with it?
Yes I am happy with it. It was hard to find but now I have a super local lady who is my childminder.
 
If you have children at school, how do you cover the holidays?
With my childminder or taking holidays split between myself and my husband.  The six weeks summer holiday is a problem and v.expensive.
 
What has been your worst moment as a working parent?
Having to be at work more than I am at home.
 
And your best?
The fact that I have a regular income.
 
Do you work flexibly?
No.
 
What is your typical working day?
9am – 5.30pm
 
How many hours a week do you work?
37 ½
 
What do you feel, if anything, needs to change to improve your work/family life balance?
More flexibility and balance restored so home gets more priority.
 
Do you feel there is enough support/advice for working parents?
No
 





Post a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *